The Hunger Games: Upvas!

3 Mar

[Spoiler Alert: This blog has nothing to do with the book and/or movie "The Hunger Games".  It's just a catchy title for the theme of this post.  Did I trick you? ;-)  I do, however, find it ironic that this movie will be released during the month of my first ever organized attempt at self-starvation.]

I am truly a hungry guinea pig today!  For today is the day that I fast.  I will not eat or drink anything other than water.  Fasting is so prevalent among Jains that Wikipedia has an entire article dedicated specifically to “Fasting in Jainism”.  To give up only food for one day is termed upvas

Jains fast during religious holidays, festivals, after committing a perceived error, or as a means to purify mind & body.  Some fasts involve giving up favorite foods for a period of time (similar to what someone might do during lent) or eliminating a specific flavor profile (all sweet food, all spicy food, etc.).  Others involve eating less than what is required to feel full or eating every other day.  Some of the fasts even exclude water.  Sorry, but I’m just not that hardcore!  The most extreme type of fasting (“complete fasting”) is santhara.  For someone who is satisfied that all of his/her duties are finished and wishes to leave this world in peace, all food and water is given up voluntarily.  Essentially, suicide by starvation/dehydration.

It is only 11:00 in the morning, <sigh> so I don’t have much to report yet other than pining for breakfast.  It’s my favorite meal of the day!  On lazy weekend mornings, I often experiment with new recipes.  It would be masochistic to cook on a day in which I can’t even taste my final creation, so there will be none of that this morning.  According to the Jain philosophy, a fast is only successful if the person not only stops eating but also stops wanting to eat.  I can’t promise anything in that regard.  However, I can promise you that I WILL be eating breakfast tomorrow morning, come what may! ;-)

Since I have all this extra free time this morning, I thought it would be a good time to play catch up with my diet updates.  I have been quite lazy this past week and have fallen behind in keeping you folks up to snuff.  Let’s fix that right now:

First things first – It’s time to wrap up the sugar = bad list.  Unfortunately, because I skipped around while reporting on this list, I don’t know which items I have not yet shared.  Therefore, I will simply provide the link one more time: http://nancyappleton.com/141-reasons-sugar-ruins-your-health/ and prompt you to skim for any additional information we might have missed.  Most of the main points were covered, and I’m pretty sure you’ve grasped by now that sugar can be devastating to your health, so let’s move on…

Second order of business: the last day of the yeast-free/mold-free/candida diet report:

I unintentionally lost weight this past month as I was required to limit my carbohydrate intake.  It was nothing dangerous or crazy substantial, just 3 or 4 pounds.

In January, during the low histamine diet, I was up against a lack of flavor choices that had me adding molasses and maple syrup to everything!  During February, I replaced sweetened peanut butter toast binges with spoonfuls of almond butter straight from the jar.  I was hungry!  I suspect it’s a bit tougher to feel satisfied on the candida diet when you are aiming towards a vegan diet.  Generally, the candida diet consists of a lot of meat and green vegetables, but I wasn’t all that interested in eating in such a fashion.  During the course of the month, I had 2 cans of fish during times of ravaging hunger and limited kitchen staples.  Other than that, I stuck with the vegan trend.  I didn’t miss peanut butter and bread like I thought I would.  I simply replaced peanut butter with almond butter (also very addicting and tasty!) and tortillas and brown rice cakes for yeast breads.  I found a yeast-free sprouted rye bread that is delicious.  Unfortunately, it’s also expensive, so I only enjoyed the luxury of one loaf.  I didn’t miss sugar all that much, BUT I missed fruit quite a bit.  I’m proud of myself for sticking to the low- sugar fruits only rule.  I suspect my taste buds changed somewhat, because I actually enjoyed drinking unsweetened soy milk.  This is an amazing feat, considering my previous inability to stomach the milk of beans stored in cardboard taste.

Cravings experienced: CHOCOLATE (it was pretty ugly at times, but miraculously, I’m still alive) ;-).  I found myself living through all of my other senses in an attempt to inject the chocolate into my body through my conscious.  Derek’s aunt gave us some engagement/Valentine’s Day treats.  The canister consisted of 4 mini cupcakes, each with a hard white chocolate or milk chocolate outer shell and 2 regular-sized chocolate cupcakes with sparkly pink frosting (the woman is amazing!)  I made Derek eat one of the mini cupcakes in front of me (actually I tried to get him to eat the larger cupcake, as that is the one I would have chosen, but he refused :-/)  I watched intently as he bit into the morsel of everything I was denied (sugar, chocolate…).  Imagine a dog watching his owner eat steak. :(  Poor thing.  I listened to the crunch and imagined the sensations in my mouth during each chew.  The next day, I brought my half of the “loot” to work so there would be less delicious torture lurking inside my refrigerator.  I opened the container for a whiff of chocolate perfume and enjoyed transporting the remaining treats to a smaller container.  Notice how I engaged all other senses?  The sight of cupcakes + touching the cupcakes + smelling the cupcakes + listening to the consumption of the cupcakes =  half-assed failed attempt at replacing the experience of eating the cupcakes!

It took Derek over a week to finish off his half of the treats (and only after endless prompting on my part).  Sheesh what a jerk!

Luckily, most of the treats I am surrounded with on a daily basis are not made from scratch.  I am a strong proponent of real food (I’d be shocked if you didn’t know this by now).  Generally, I’m not that impressed by how good man-made chemicals can make something taste (raised doughnuts with chocolate frosting and sprinkles might be an exception…)  Not to mention that if something comes from a box, it is easily reproducible.  I can have that item whenever I want (when I can have it that is – you know what I mean…) When someone brings cupcakes to work, I immediately assume they are made from scratch, because that is how I make everything.  I forget that most folks just want the sugar fix and they don’t care how.  Cakes from a box may be cheaper and quicker, so they provide a nice option for the sweets fiend.  Once I’ve made the realization that the frosting is from a Betty Crocker vessel rather than a mixer paddle, I lose all feelings of deprivation instantly.  Neat trick, eh?  I’ve acquired the gift of being able to differentiate “food” from actual food and to appreciate the latter in all its glory.

Sins to confess:

#1. I tried to stick to a 2 cups of grains + 1 1/2 cups of legumes/beans per day limit as closely as possible.  Since a cup of rice is more easily measured than the amount of beans in a batch of bean pasta, there were probably some errors made.  At times, I may have eaten more than my predetermined share.  Overall though, I think I did a pretty decent job following these restrictions.  :)

#2.  I discovered on my last day of the candida diet that my “non-chewable” (deemed chewable by moi) vitamin B12 pills contain a miniscule amount of sugar in the form of maltodextrin.  This is hardly worth noting, but I’m a details freak, so there you have it.

Here’s what I ate my last day on the yeast/mold allergy + candida diet:

Breakfast: Kamut (wheat) flakes with soy milk, blueberries (1/2 cup), applesauce (1/2 cup), ground flax seed, and spirulina (algae – kinda tastes the way fish food smells, proving yet again that my taste buds can handle anything at this point ;-))
Lunch: Brown rice pasta with pumpkin, spirulina, chopped arugula, mung & adzuki beans, coconut oil, and garam masala (Justine’s famous kitchen-clearing house special of the day! :-))
Supper: Curried bean “pancakes” with fresh ginger, onion, and arugula + spicy seasoned turnip fries (had to eat up those root vegetables before the 1st!)

Lessons learned:  Measuring everything before you eat it is ANNOYING (my condolences to all of you calorie counters out there)!  Trying to follow a candida diet as a vegan is a definite challenge!  Also, when you replace sugar + fat binges with pure fat binges, you lose weight.  Whether or not candida is directly involved, eating a low-sugar diet for a short period of time is a worthwhile endeavor.  We have learned how sugar contributes to a multitude of health problems and encourages dulled taste buds and overeating.  I dare you to give up all added sugars and refined grains for one solid month.  What do you have to lose, other than a few pounds and a couple of potential cavities?

Finally, a quick review of what I ate my first day as a Jain (Thursday March 1st):

Breakfast: Rolled oats soaked overnight in soy milk with blueberries, applesauce, orange juice, spirulina, & ground flax seed; B12 supplement
Black bean “hummus” with cumin (instead of garlic), lemon juice, tahini, & coconut oil (instead of olive oil) mixed with quinoa &chopped arugula; 1 date for dessert
2 brown rice cakes w/ remainder of black bean dip, baby spinach & arugula; peeled cucumber slices; 2 orange slices; 1 date for dessert

Since my root vegetable intake will be practically nil, I have sought out a nice beta-carotene (vitamin A precursor) replacement.  Spirulina, as mentioned above, is an algae that just happens to be an excellent source of beta carotene.  It’s strong stuff, but mixed into my morning cereal with fruit, it’s not so bad.  Beta-carotene is also prevalent in green leafy vegetables and other colorful veggies.  Like most Americans, my intake of these is less than what it should be, so the spirulina provides a bit of extra insurance.  Avoiding refined sugar is easy with dates.  They are nature’s candy!  If you’ve never tried one, you are missing out.

Jain diet fun-fact: While attempting to understand why I could have turmeric (a root) on the Jain diet but no carrots, I discovered an interesting explanation.  Apparently in Jain Dharma there are two categories of plant species.  Under the ordinary plant kingdom, multiple souls are said to reside (potatoes, onions, etc.).  Turmeric and ginger are categorized under the single plant kingdom.  Therefore, only one soul is disturbed in their upheaval rather than multiple souls.

I assume there is a sort of biological distinction between the different groups to have reached such conclusions (as least I’m hoping so).  Too many religious guidelines appear to stem from thin air.  “Confess your sins to a priest!”  Why?  Does the bible tell me to?  Jainism prides itself on rationalism, so until I discover otherwise, I’m going to keep my hopes high!

Phew!  That killed some hours.  It’s past my normal lunchtime already!  I’m still hungry and would like to eat some food.  Hmmm…well, if Les Stroud can survive a week in the Kalahari Desert with a finite amount of water and a jar of peanut butter, I can handle this (personal pep talk :-)) Time for another glass of agua…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fasting_in_Jainism

http://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/religions/jainism/customs/fasting_1.shtml

http://www.jaina.org/blogpost/258540/59724/why-its-okay-to-eat-turmeric-powder-and-not-okay-to-eat-onion-garlic-or-potato-powder

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

