Low-Histamine Recipe ~Carrot Apple Nut Muffins!

9 Jan

Some common muffin ingredients (such as berries and cinnamon) are not histamine restricted diet-friendly.  While a small amount of cooked egg in baked goods in considered acceptable, I made things even easier by removing eggs from the equation altogether.  I snagged the skeleton of this recipe from a magazine awhile back, but I made some modifications to make these my own creation.  They are less sweet than typical muffins but more sweet than most breads.  If you like sweeter muffins, go ahead and add more maple syrup or plain sugar if you prefer.  I personally think these are amazing and like to eat them with peanut butter for some protein and added substance.  Give ’em a go if you want to try the most wholesome muffin you’ve ever eaten in your life (that doesn’t taste like cardboard).

Low-Histamine Vegan Carrot Apple Nut Muffins –

Makes 12 standard muffins

Ingredients:

2 or 3 medium carrots, peeled and finely grated

1 large apple (sweet rather than sour variety), finely grated

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup unsulfurated blackstrap molasses + 1 Tbsp REAL maple syrup –  (If you oil your measuring cup, the molasses comes out very easily with a spatula)

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp dried ginger

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp cardamom (sweet Indian spice)

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used almonds)

3 Tbsp pureed banana

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)

Water (as much as it takes…)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease muffin cups.  In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, sea salt, cardamom, & ginger.  Stir in nuts.  In a separate bowl, mix together the pureed banana, olive oil, molasses, maple syrup, and vanilla.  Fold the wet ingredients & grated carrot & apple into the dry ingredients.  Add water in small amounts while folding until a batter-like consistency is achieved.  Pour the batter evenly between the cups.  Bake for ~20 minutes/until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

One thing I love about using unsulfurated blackstrap molasses (besides its awesome flavor) is that it is a good source of potassium, iron, and calcium.  Refined sugar is a good source of nada and actually DEPLETES nutrients while adding empty calories.  I’ll just have my cake and eat it too, thanks.

Let me know what you think 😀

4 Responses to “Low-Histamine Recipe ~Carrot Apple Nut Muffins!”

  1. Randy(Dad) January 10, 2012 at 3:16 am #

    I’ve copied it and will give it a whirl.

  2. ambuns January 12, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    If I weren’t surrounded by picky eaters, I would try this… If I did try it, I would be the only one eating it…

    • thehungryguineapig January 12, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

      Derek wasn’t that impressed with these muffins, so I got to eat most of them myself 🙂 I think his taste buds are defective, because he’s a smoker 😉

Leave a Reply

