Low-Histamine Recipe #2! ~ Carob Brownies

16 Jan

During my experiment, I have made it a goal to bake/create some sort of dessert every month for a number of reasons:

#1: Baking is a hobby of mine, and I think it will add to the experience if I am forced to learn how to make substitutions.

#2: I want to prove that even though a person may be on a restricted diet, there’s still room for tasty treats.

#3: I enjoy the cheesy custom of baking for special occasions.  This month’s special occasion: my birthday on the 19th!

#4: I am a sugar fiend and want some sweets dammit!

On the histamine restricted diet, chocolate is a no-no.  This is very bad news for someone such as myself who has a weakness for the stuff.  Gummy bears, Starbursts, Sour Patch Kids…I couldn’t care less about these candies.  I generally want chocolatey goodness if I’m going to poison myself with garbage food.  Otherwise, it’s just not worth it.  I had heard about carob as a chocolate substitute and have tried some sort of carob candy in the past.  Obviously it’s no chocolate if I can’t remember what it was…carob covered almonds perhaps?  Anyway, I wasn’t incredibly impressed.  However, with chocolate as a non-option, I decided to reconsider my snap judgment of carob.  I found this recipe: http://www.naturallyvegetarianrecipes.com/evas-incredible-carob-brownies.htm and tweaked it just slightly.  I expected to be disappointed, but they actually turned out delicious!  So delicious that I kept rationalizing why I could bring smaller portions to work so that I could eat more (well you know carob is a bit exotic so people might not want to try them and we’re doing a weight loss challenge so it’s unfair to add extra temptation into the equation)  See how I can make myself out to be the good guy? 😉  These brownies remind me of Cocoa Pebbles (a personal childhood favorite).  I have made a mental note to make them again sometime (since they’re almost gone!) and eat one mashed up in a bowl of ice cold almond milk. YUM!

Low-Histamine Vegan Carob Brownies

Makes as many brownies as you want!  48 very tiny brownies, 1 very large awesome brownie 😉 or ~12 reasonably sized brownies for people with self-control 🙂

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour (the original recipe calls for whole wheat – I ran out when I made those muffins, so I just used what I had on hand)

1/2 cup carob powder

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup REAL maple syrup

1/2 cup blackstrap molasses

1/2 cup coconut oil (the original recipe calls for vegetable oil – any neutral or nutty tasting oil should be fine)

1 tsp vanilla (I used vanilla bean – I can’t have alcohol, so I’m avoiding extract just to be safe) FYI: There’s a method to using vanilla bean in place of extract so if you go that route, I’d suggest doing your homework 😉

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a large mixing bowl combine the flour, carob powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a separate bowl, blend the maple syrup, molasses, oil, and vanilla.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until well blended.  If necessary, you can add splashes of water for a more consistent batter.  Spread the batter evenly into a greased pan (original recipe calls for a rectangular 9X13″ cake pan – I used a 7X11″ glass dish).  Bake for about 12 minutes.  Let them cool slightly and slice while they are still warm.


2 Responses to “Low-Histamine Recipe #2! ~ Carob Brownies”

  1. Louisa January 19, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    Enjoy your birthday brownies!

  2. thehungryguineapig January 20, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    I enjoyed them all before my birthday 😉 I shouldn’t have made them so early. I know myself better than to think I could have treats in my freezer a whole week. Silly me! Oh well…lesson relearned (for the millionth time) 🙂

Leave a Reply

