Low-Histamine Recipe #3 ~ The Idea of Pizza

17 Jan

I’m on a roll with another low-histamine recipe to share!  I took the premise of a tomato-less cheese-less pizza as a challenge that needed to be tackled.  A pizza without tomatoes or cheese?  I suppose you think it can’t be done!  Well yes and no.  Every food has its own distinct flavor that other foods can only mimic to a certain extent.  The bad news: this recipe yielded something that didn’t really taste like pizza.  The good news: it looked pretty and was tasty regardless!  This was my first attempt at a “nomato” sauce, and I have no doubt that there are ways of increasing the pizza flavor.  I need more time to experiment to get it right, but here’s a rough idea of what I did.  If you are up for something different but enjoy the look of the familiar, give this recipe a go!

Basic “Nomato” Pizza Sauce from: http://www.food.com/recipe/basic-nomato-sauce-tomato-free-tomato-sauce-359835 with a few personal additions

6 carrots, peeled and diced

1 small beet, peeled and diced

1 large onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic, minced (feel free to add more if you’re a garlic whore like me…)

3 celery ribs, diced

1 bay leaf, whole

1 1/2 cups water

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 jalapeno, diced (optional – may add more if you like spice!)

Fresh/dried herbs of your choice ( I used fresh basil, thyme, and oregano.  I’m spoiled, because I inherited 2 Aerogardens when my boyfriend moved in :)) – If you use fresh, use a LOT.  Dried herbs have much more concentrated flavors.

Splash of molasses/maple syrup for added sweetness (optional)

Salt & pepper

Heat oil in a large pot.  Saute onion and garlic for a few minutes.  Add the remainder of the ingredients.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer until veggies are soft.  Take out bay leaf and blend well until smooth.

I also made hummus and blended that into the “nomato” sauce for added flavor, protein, and thickness.  Hummus is traditionally made with lemon juice, but citrus fruits are not allowed on the low-histamine diet.  I got around this restriction with a magic ingredient: lemon basil! Lemon balm would work too.  I can’t give the exact hummus recipe (because I didn’t follow one), but the ingredients I used consisted of cooked chickpeas, tahini (sesame seed butter), olive oil, garlic, lemon basil, and salt.

Finally, I made a rye pizza crust (because I’m awesome, and from scratch is how I roll 😉 ).  I had intentions of making a vegan cheese sauce, but after chopping a million herbs and vegetables I got lazy.

Here’s how I assembled my “Idea of Pizza”:

I spread the crust with olive oil first, then the “nomato” hummus sauce, followed by chopped onion and arugula (spicy lettuce), chopped yellow, orange, and red bell pepper, radish coins/ “pepperonis”, artichoke hearts, and lobster mushrooms (for a meaty texture).  On top of all this, I sprinked dried kale (I have a dehydrator…like I said, I’m spoiled :-)), nutritional yeast flakes (mix beforehand with ground flax seed and tahini for a cheesy sauce), and dried red pepper flakes.  I put it in the oven at 400 degrees until I decided it was done.  No browning melted cheese to use as a gauge, so I let the crispness of the crust be my guide (along with my impatience to try my new creation).  I topped it off with more nutritional yeast and red pepper flakes before eating.

Obviously, any favorite pizza veggies of your choice would work great.  I think a simple crust with “nomato” hummus and some vegan cheese sauce would probably be delicious all on it’s own, but I love me veggies and am always looking for ways to include as many as possible into my meals.  You should too! That’s my RD lecture for the day 😉


4 Responses to “Low-Histamine Recipe #3 ~ The Idea of Pizza”

  1. (Dad) Randy Cadwell January 17, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    That actually looks fun to try. I’m going to pass this along to the dietician I work with…see what he thinks. Good work.

  2. Tim Scallon January 17, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Hello Justine,
    Just reviewed your Idea of Pizza recipe. Very unique and interesting. I work with your Dad on Memorial Cooking Innovations TV show. Chef Mani and I are always altering recipes to fit AHA, ADA and ACS guidelines.
    Good work on the Pizza. Could you use a very small amt of a tomato product to add flavor without adding too many histamines? How about a tsp of Chipotle Peppers in adobo sauce. This is a canned product that you would find in the Hispanic section of the ethnic foods area.
    Your dad was very excited about this recipe. After looking at your site, I can see why he would be so proud.
    Keep up the good work!
    Tim Scallon MS RD LD

    • thehungryguineapig January 18, 2012 at 1:04 am #

      Tim,

      Thank you for your kind words. With histamine intolerance, there are a wide variety of tolerance levels. Some people could probably get away with adding a little bit of tomato, but unfortunately, others can’t have any tomatoes at all. I looked up the ingredients for the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and noticed vinegar. Vinegar is not allowed on the low-histamine diet at all. For the purpose of my experiment, I’m trying to avoid anything that isn’t explicitly listed as being suitable for this type of elimination diet. As a result, neither of these items would be allowed at this time. It has been tricky indeed to find tasty additions without the use of any vinegar, soy sauce, citrus, cheese, or tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

