Sugar-Free Valentine’s Day Treat!

14 Feb

My original plan was to bake something for this month’s special occasion: Valentine’s Day.  However, since I am unable to use any refined grains or sugar, specialty baking sounds too complicated for my busy life at this time.  This may be my first Valentine’s Day that will not include chocolate.  I’d be lying if I said I don’t mind.  I still miss chocolate, but that is not an option this month.  This doesn’t mean I can’t share a delicious recipe though!  Here is a smoothie recipe I came across during my quest for candida-friendly recipes: http://www.thecandidadiet.com/candida-recipes-drinks.htm  As usual, I changed the amounts just slightly based on my experiments with the original recipe.  It is quite tasty and just the right amount of sweet.  Enjoy and Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

Avocado Apple Smoothie

*1 medium avocado, peeled and chopped, pit removed

*1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and chopped

*Juice from 1/2 small lemon (more/less to taste)

*1-2 cups of water (based on desired thickness – P.S. If you only use 1 cup and par-freeze the creation, you get soft-serve apple avocado ice cream. You bet I tried this! Mmmm)

*Fresh mint leaves (to taste/as a garnish)

Blend all ingredients until smooth/desired consistency reached.

I didn’t add anything else, but if it’s not quite sweet enough for your sweet tooth, feel free to add some Stevia (Just make sure the brand you buy is filtered properly!  Otherwise, it can leave a bitter aftertaste.)

Leave a Reply

