FructMal Friendly Feast: Hearty Lentil Soup + Buckwheat Sesame Crackers with Hummus (kinda)

20 Apr

Woo hoo!  That’s a lot of recipes all rolled into one post.  Are you excited?  You should be!

Ahh soup.  Who doesn’t find comfort in a big bowl of hot soup?  I have yet to discover a store-bought vegetable broth sans onions.  I’m sure it’s possible to make a decent homemade stock without onions or garlic, but I’ve chosen to take the lazier route.  Instead, I’ve been seeking out soup recipes that do not contain stock/broth in the first place.  Blissful Bites is a vegan cookbook by Christy Morgan chock full of onion & garlic-free recipes.  Here is a gem I discovered from within its pages…

Hearty Lentil Soup 

Ingredients:

*Tbsp sesame oil

*Pinch sea salt

*Pinch of asafetida (optional) – This ingredient was not mentioned in the original recipe.

*2 medium carrots, chopped

*2 celery stalks, diced

*1 Tbsp oregano

*7 cups water

*2 bay leaves

*1 cup green lentils, washed & drained

*1″ piece of fresh ginger, minced

*2 Tbsp tamari

*2 Tbsp miso

*2 Tbsp lemon juice

*Parsley (optional, for garnish)

Method: Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Add carrot, celery, oregano, (asafetida if desired) & sea salt & saute for a few minutes.  Stir in water, bay leaves, lentils, and ginger.  Bring to a boil.  Simmer with lid until lentils are tender ~30-40 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Add tamari and continue to simmer for 3-5 minutes.  Remove bay leaves.  Turn off heat.  In a small bowl, dilute miso with a little cooking liquid.  Stir miso & lemon juice into soup and let sit for 5 minutes.  Serve, garnished with parsley.

If you are anything like me, you also like crackers in your soup!  When I was a kid, chicken noodle soup with Saltine crackers was a diet staple  (Salt city!)  Anyway, since wheat is not allowed on my FructMal diet, I have replaced Saltines with homemade buckwheat crackers (Buckwheat is NOT wheat?! Confusing I know!)  I found the following recipe during my candida diet in The Yeast Connection Cookbook by William G. Crook.  They taste reminiscent of the sesame sticks I also used to enjoy as a young tot.  Mmm…yummy nostalgia…

Buckwheat Crackers

Ingredients:

*1 cup buckwheat flour

*1/4 cup arrowroot

*1/4 tsp salt

*3 Tbsp sesame seeds (I used a mixture of white and black sesame seeds)

*2 Tbsp cold-pressed sesame oil (I used oil from the top of my unstirred raw tahini ;-))

*1/2 cup water

*Sea salt (optional, for sprinkling)

Method: Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Mix the flour, starch, salt & seeds in a medium sized bowl.  Make a “well” in the center of the flour mixture & pour in the oil & water.  Stir with a fork.  As the flour absorbs the liquid, the dough will start to clump into a ball.  Oil the center of a cookie sheet.  Leave 1″ of the outer edge oil-free.  Scrape the ball of dough onto the middle of the cookie sheet.  Pat it into a flat rectangle.  Place piece of parchment paper down on the dough.  Roll dough out very thin.  Cut the dough into 2″ squares (or whatever shapes you prefer).  Salt the tops lightly if desired.  Place crackers in the oven and immediately reduce the temperature to 350 degrees F.  Remove from the oven in 12 minutes, and lift off the crispy crackers around the outer edge.  Put them on a wire rack to cool.  Separate remaining crackers with a spatula.  Turn oven off and return those crackers to the oven for 10-20 minutes until they’re as crisp as you like.

Don’t go dumping all of those crackers into your soup just yet!  Save some for this delectable hummus!  I wanted to make some hummus the other day and realized that I was fresh out of lemons… & olive oil… & I couldn’t add any garlic.  I have already mastered hummus without garlic.  But hummus without olive oil OR garlic OR lemon juice?  Well, nothing is going to stand between me and my hummus!  I was up to the challenge.  I’m happy to report it was a success!  This hummus is 100% my creation and tastes absolutely delicious (even though it’s missing half of the traditional hummus ingredients).  Plus, it’s lower in fat and fructose (since I omitted half the oil and all of the fruit juice).  I rock!  Yeah baby!

Hummus (kinda) – Makes ~1 + 1/2 cups

Ingredients:

*1 15-oz can or 1 + 2/3 cups prepared chickpeas

(Note:  I recommend homemade beans for the best results.  I make giant batches of chickpeas and freeze them in individual portions.  One trick I’ve learned is to cover the beans with water so that the flavor will not be affected by freezer burn.  The night before you plan to make a batch of hummus, pull a jar out of the freezer [or use a microwave in a pinch].  Whether you are using canned or home-prepared, do not drain the liquid.  You’ll need this starchy stuff to bulk up the batch!)

*2 Tbsp tahini (I used raw, but roasted should work)

*2 Tbsp macadamia nut oil (You can of course use olive oil if you have it)

*1 tsp coriander (for a hint of lemon)

*1/2 tsp cumin (for a slight kick)

*1/2 tsp salt

Method: Blend all of the ingredients until smooth.

(Note: It’s best to let the flavors meld for at least an hour before devouring.)

Yes!  Mastered!  (I get a little excited about my hummus…call me a cliche hippy vegan if you must! :-))  Now get cooking/baking/blending and have yourself a FructMal friendly feast!

Leave a Reply

