Eggs? Hamburgers? Since when?

24 Jun

Up until this point, animal products have rarely been seen in my shared meal logs.  For the past 6 months, I have been following a (mostly) vegan diet.  I have decided to start adding more animal products back in to my meals to see what kind of effect it has.  Not to mention, I want my body to be somewhat prepared when I undergo the mini-Paleo experiment still to come.  I have struggled with feeling full on a strictly vegan diet even when incorporating plenty of fat and protein-rich foods (nuts, seeds, beans, legumes, tofu, etc).  I suspect the carbohydrate load is a bit much for me.  I don’t want to make any grand statements or promises at this time, so let’s just leave it at that.  I am still a guinea pig, learning what does and doesn’t work for ME, but that doesn’t mean squat in the way of others’ diet successes and failures.  FructMal can definitely make a vegan diet very challenging (particularly if you have problems with the other FODMAPS as well).  See April posts about Fructose Malabsorption if you are confused by these acronyms. 🙂    I believe that it is possible for SOME to thrive on a vegan diet, but I’ve got a sneaking suspicion, I may not be one of them.  The single most important thing anyone can do for their health is to incorporate as many fruits and vegetables into their diet as possible (Note the term possible!  If pears make you sick, then don’t eat them if you wish to be well!).  Whether paleo or vegan, your health will suffer if you do not honor this Holy Grail of the diet world!

Leave a Reply

