I NEVER Thought I’d Eat a Pureed Hamburger…

24 Jun

Final phase folks!  Aren’t you excited?  I am (but only because the end is in sight ;-)).

Here’s what I ate my last day on the Mechanically Altered Diet (Level II of the National Dysphagia Diet)

Breakfast: Scottish oats with cinnamon & ground flax seed + 2 scrambled eggs (prepared in coconut oil) with spinach & tsp miso paste

Neato Tip!: I used to think that cooking scrambled eggs without cheese wasn’t worth the effort.  I discovered that by cooking my eggs in a moderate amount of coconut oil and adding miso (fermented soybean paste), the end result was impressive.  The fat + salt combo hits the taste buds nicely.  I would imagine this could be accentuated by adding some nutritional yeast flakes (due to their inherently cheesy flavor).  Newsflash: scrambled eggs without cheese can be just as delicious!  I’m excited about my discovery and wanted to share it with everyone!

Snack:  blueberry soy milk (1 cup of soy milk blended with 1/2 cup blueberries)

Lunch: Bowl of mashed root vegetables: butternut squash, carrots, turnips, sweet potatoes + Veggie blend (Avocado, green peas, collard greens, ground black & white sesame seeds, lemon & lime juice), mixed with pumpkin seed butter & 1/2 can tuna [Properly prepared, the tuna should have been cut into smaller pieces before consumption, but I gave myself permission to ignore this step.  Something tells me most people following the dysphagia diet don’t have a full-time job competing with their free time!)

Supper: Bowl of mashed root vegetables: potatoes, carrots, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, kohlrabi (should have been mashed better), Mayo Coba beans (should have been mashed)

Nighttime Snack: Light Coconut milk mixed with cocoa powder (This mixture should have been blended instead.  It was too chalky.)

Mishaps to confess:  “Sins” don’t seem to be an appropriate label for my mistakes during this phase.  Learning how to properly prepare mechanically altered meals is a work in progress.  I haven’t defiantly shoveled any corn chips into my mouth (amazingly).  I have slowly learned what does and doesn’t work though.  For example, blueberries need to be thoroughly incorporated into smoothies to be an appropriate menu choice for this stage.  Some days when I made blueberry soy milk, there were remnants of the tough skins of the blueberries in my glass.  This is a no-no.  I also ate a black bean burger prepared on the grill.  Even when mashed together with my potatoes, there were a few tough pieces I encountered that I suspect wouldn’t be acceptable.  Other mishaps were mentioned in my food log above.  I will admit that not mashing the beans was out of sheer laziness, and so in that regard, was sinful. 😉

Level 1 (for the truly hardcore) Pureed Diet (I hope my blender is alive and well after this 8-day journey!)

ALL foods must be “pudding-like”, smooth, & free of lumps (Cue the violins – oh wait, I chose this fate…)

Off the Menu:

*Dairy: hard cheeses (unless melted into finished product)

*Grains: coarse, whole grain breads, granola, fried rice, potato skins

*Vegetables: raw or fried vegetables, vegetables with seeds or tough skins (corn, celery, tomatoes) – may not blend well

*Fruits: fruits with seeds, membranes, or tough skins (strawberries, raspberries, pineapple, orange & grapefruit sections, cherries, grapes, dried fruits)

*Meat, poultry, eggs & fish: fried meats, sausages/other tough skinned meats; poultry skin, fish with bones, anchovies, fried eggs

*Nuts/Seeds: all whole nuts/seeds

*Beans/Legumes: crunchy peanut butter (peanut/other nut butters should be avoided in general unless it is used as part of a complete recipe that is easy to swallow)

*Food additives/misc: coconut

*Fun Stuff: chips, granola bars, pies, chewy candy, hard, crunchy cookies, taffy, licorice, caramel, popcorn

The ultimate goal is “pudding-like” meals.  As a result, some of the above foods (such as raw vegetables) may be incorporated as long as they are served in a meal that follows this golden rule!

What I ate my first day on the pureed diet (Be prepared!~Anybody else get that Lion King song in your head when reading this phrase?)

Breakfast:  Coconut milk smoothie with frozen blueberries, ground chia seeds, & strawberry-flavored brown rice protein powder (Barf!  I hate protein powder, but I bought it awhile back and am slowly using it up)

Lunch: After some trial and error, I ended up with green pudding consisting of all of the following ingredients:

butternut squash, sweet potatoes, carrots, turnips, 2 scrambled eggs prepared with coconut oil, miso, & spinach, ground black & white sesame seeds, collard greens, avocado, & peas

Pre-supper snack: Frozen blueberries blended with coconut milk, cocoa powder, & water

Supper: Green “soup”? consisting of the following ingredients:

grilled burger (I can’t believe I did it either!), hummus (chickpeas, cumin, coriander, collard greens), spinach, tomato, mashed potatoes & carrots + veggie blend mentioned above (avocado, peas, white & black sesame seeds, collard greens), nutritional yeast flakes.  I topped my “hamburger smoothie” with some mustard and started to force it down.  After heating the entire mixture to hot and adding some cayenne pepper, it actually tasted like a delicous smoky soup that I was HAPPY?! to eat.  Amazing!  The things I’m discovering everyday on this crazy diet journey continue to shock me.

P.S.  I already feel awful for the folks who are expected to LIVE this way!

Source:

http://nutritioncaremanual.org/vault/editor/Docs/PureedNutritionTherapy_FINAL.pdf

One Response to “I NEVER Thought I’d Eat a Pureed Hamburger…”

  1. Katie June 26, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    I agree Justine, I can’t imagine having to live with your meals like that…ufda! It did not sound appetizing at all….

Leave a Reply

