Survey!

26 Jun

Dear Fellow Readers,

My July fate has been sealed: Wilson’s Disease (low-copper) diet.  I’ll provide further details during a later post, but let’s take a look at the other remaining diets (in no particular order):

*Gluten-free

*Low Tyramine

*Locavore (+ mini-Paleo experiment)

*Macrobiotic

*Allergic

I was considering changing it up a bit.  It seems unreasonable to eliminate all of the top 8 food allergens for an entire month.  Most people do not have all 8 of these allergies!  Do you think I should follow the original plan to avoid all 8 OR…

Do I draw one plant food and one animal food per week to be allergic to?  For example, the first week I might avoid eggs and wheat.  The next week it could be fish and soy.  About 30% of children with food allergies have multiple food allergies.  Or…

Do I combine the macrobiotic (1 or 2 weeks), paleo (1 week), and locavore (1 or 2 weeks) diets into one month?  This would allow me to divide the allergic diet up into 2 months.  That way I could spend 1 week dedicated to each allergen.  It may seem easy to avoid peanut butter for a week, but keep in mind that I have to purchase items that are processed on safe equipment as well.  Allergies are serious business, so it involves more detective work than just avoiding a particular food item.

I am indecisive.  Help me!  Please leave a comment to let me know which route you think would be best!

❤ The Hungry Guinea Pig

http://www.aaaai.org/about-the-aaaai/newsroom/allergy-statistics.aspx

2 Responses to “Survey!”

  1. DAD June 26, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    ok..since I’m a real advocate of fun and delicious cooking…I couldn’t do either…but I digress. Since you state that it’s rare that anyone has all 8, I would vote for your weekly try of different allegies. Wouldn’t recipes be easier if you only have to worry about one allegy each week? Either way, you are going to have to buy a wide variety of foods to avoid these…geez!..what a venture.

  2. Abby July 4, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Combine Macro/Paleo/Locavore. It will give you a better look at the allergy struggles in a more realistic way!

Leave a Reply

