Abort Mission

16 Aug

Well I had the best of intentions with this diet, but I have already thrown in the towel.

I underestimated the misery of the transition period.  When cutting out carbohydrates, some people go through a (usually) temporary period of discomfort ranging from fatigue to mood disturbances.  This can be due to withdrawal (from sugar, coffee, alcohol, etc.), die-off (of bacteria, yeasts, or whatever critters have been living in your intestines munching away on the carbohydrates you usually feed it), and/or the adjustment to ketosis (explained below) itself.  I suspect all three contributed to my woes!  I felt EXHAUSTED.  The very first night I woke up with an awful headache and had trouble sleeping.  Not to mention my monthly visitor stopped by on the second day of my attempt.  Needless to say, these circumstances were not happy to meet each other.  I had a bit of a physical/mental breakdown.

I also experienced heart palpitations which happened the last time I went low-carb (see February archives for “Candida diet” – though I never mentioned the palpitations until now).  I attribute the extra thumps to an increased adrenaline response.  Ketosis is a metabolic state in which your body adjusts to burning fat, rather than carbohydrate, to produce the glucose your brain needs to function.  It’s a sort of selective starvation.  A ketogenic diet is used for amazing therapeutic purposes.  For example, eating in this fashion allows many people with epilepsy to prevent seizures.  For people with serious digestive troubles, eating a low-carb diet can mean the difference between living life and running to the bathroom five times a day.  One of the most exciting applications of a ketogenic diet is using it to slow tumor growth!

BUT…

For me at this point, it’s just not worth it.  I will continue eating in my semi-responsible way, limiting FODMAPS more than I used to.  I still have tummy attack episodes (because I cheat more often than I should…), but it’s nothing like it used to be.  I used to have constant stomach aches, unable to pinpoint what was causing my grief (probably because the list of “what” was more extensive than I could have imagined or hoped for :-/ ).

Even though the diet was (very) short lived, I did learn something!  I used to think that if I ate anything before laying down, I was sure to suffer cramps upon waking.  However, it appears that meat is a “safe” food for me.  It seems I can eat meat before a nap and wake up without an ounce of abdominal pain.  Victory!

Also, I came across another wordpress blogger who happens to be undertaking the exact same diet.  She started a day or two before me, so if you are curious to hear about how the diet goes for her,  check out her blog: http://fromheretohealth.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/ed-day-4/ . I am going to follow her updates and see if I can’t be convinced to give it a go some other time. 🙂

Sources:

Jacob, A. (2013) Digestive Health with Real Food.

http://www.thebarrow.org/Research/Neuro_Oncology/213930

http://www.nature.com/ejcn/journal/v67/n8/full/ejcn2013116a.html

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22322415

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2005/11/051114220938.htm

3 Responses to “Abort Mission”

  1. Randy Cadwell August 16, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Interesting, because I’ve been trying to cut back on the carbs and have also experienced trouble sleeping at night. So..we’ve been “minimal eating” carbs and not totally cutting them. Seletive carb eating I guess you’d call it. I’ll keep tabs with you. Sorry you are going through such FUMAR eating experience. Hang in there Kiddo. DAD.

    • Randy Cadwell August 16, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

      Ooopss…that’s “FUBAR”…

    • thehungryguineapig August 16, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      Haha! I looked up “FUMAR” and it means “smoke” in Spanish. I was pretty sure it was a typo, but I thought that maybe you knew something that I didn’t. 🙂 You should read “The Perfect Health Diet”. It was written by some smart folks, and they recommend limiting rather than cutting carbs too. I hope your lifestyle changes are going well for you! Love you!

Leave a Reply

