Addition Diet Trial #2: Prescript Assist

16 Dec

I followed a less than scientific approach for this experiment as well.  I took the Prescript Assist probiotic faithfully for about 2 weeks and found the results less than impressive.  As a result, I started taking it more sporadically until the rest of the bottle was gone.  As with the Lauricidin (https://thehungryguineapig.wordpress.com/2013/11/09/addition-diet-experiment-1-lauricidin/), I did notice more regularity.  However, it came at a price.  It’s common when you first start taking a new probiotic for your tummy to go through a transition period in which things get extra screwy for awhile.  TMI ALERT: I started to notice an orange colored discharge during BMs.  I suffer a lot of weird symptoms, but orange poo goo was a new one. :-/  I learned from the internet that this is called keriorrhea.  My condolences to those poor bastards that used to have to describe these symptoms to their doctors (or silently suffer) in the pre-internet days.  This is the main reason why I only gave it 2 weeks before backing off.  I don’t like leaking out of my butt (Even though I never tried Olestra, see my rant against subsequent anal leakage in this post: https://thehungryguineapig.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/feeding-poison-to-the-sick-and-other-thoughts-of-a-disgruntled-dietitian/ ).  According to Wikipedia, keriorrhea occurs when indigestible wax esters are consumed.  Leonardite is a “soft, waxy…mineraloid” used in the production of Prescript Assist capsules.  Mystery solved.  As far as I know, it’s not harmful, but I don’t enjoy the feeling of a leaky butt enough to pay $50 for 60 more capsules.  I don’t like painting Prescript Assist in a bad light, because it’s one of the most promising probiotics on the market.  Unfortunately, many probiotics can do more (actual) harm than good.  This is what happens when industry takes a few promising ideas from science and markets it before experts can give their full blessing.  According to the Paleo mom (a blog that I love, written by a former biochemist):  “Lactobacillus and bifidobacterium are the two most heavily studied genera of probiotic bacteria.  They are also the most commonly found in supplement form”  Yet “these are also the strains that may contribute to autoantibody formation and to severe eosinophilic syndrome in some people”.  My understanding of eosinophilia is a state of chronically elevated white blood cells, most often the result of an allergic reaction.  In other words, taking probiotics can contribute to an allergic reaction by exposing a person to bacteria that would not normally reside in that person.  If you are under silent attack, your body is going to be inflamed, and we all know (or should by now!), the dangers of chronic inflammation.  In addition, certain species of bacteria have the ability to produce more histamine in the body.  Everybody has a different histamine tolerance, but even the most food tolerant individual has limits.  If you eat a pizza (with tomatoes, spinach, feta cheese, & brined olives) and drink several glasses of red wine, you may feel your face flush, get a headache, or feel your heart race.  This can imply a histamine reaction (or tyramine, but that was explained in another post: https://thehungryguineapig.wordpress.com/2012/12/)  If you supplement with probiotics using the types of bacteria that increase histamine production in the gut, you may find your tolerance for red wine or Greek Pizza going down.  That’s no fun at all, I assure you.  Prescript Assist uses several soil-based organisms to encourage a more varied and thorough repopulation of the digestive tract.  This small study shows possible benefits in those with IBS: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16117982.  I don’t want to discourage anyone from trying this product, because a lot of people seem to find significant improvement through its use.  Again, it’s just my individual opinion that this product may not be for me, at least not at this time.  Back at the drawing board, I am considering future (never done by me before) elimination trials.  I will keep you posted! 🙂

Sources

http://www.thepaleomom.com/2013/02/teaser-excerpt-from-the-paleo-approach-probiotic-supplements.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonardite

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keriorrhea

http://www.magneticclay.com/store/prescript-assist-probiotic.aspx

http://www.bulletproofexec.com/why-yogurt-and-probiotics-make-you-fat-and-foggy/

4 Responses to “Addition Diet Trial #2: Prescript Assist”

  1. PC December 16, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    There’s some good info here on probiotics that lower histamine rather than increasing it:

    http://thelowhistaminechef.com/these-probiotic-strains-lower-histamine-rather-than-raising-it/

    I’m not a huge fan of probiotics personally, they always make me feel a bit weird. I’d rather increase prebiotics (onions, leeks etc) from food. So far a ketogenic diet seems to keep my screwy gut bacteria under control.

  2. tessatito December 21, 2013 at 4:32 am #

    Never enough info about BMs lol…

Leave a Reply

