Less Restriction, More Analysis

7 Jan

I haven’t gotten started on my diet experiments for this year yet.  I have been crazy busy for the past few weeks, leaving me little time to plan.  However, I did take the time to look over my previous list of preferred diets more closely.  As a result, I have decided to make some cuts.  There was a lot of overlap between the Whole 30 and the 21 Day Sugar Detox, so I am just going to carry out the latter and nix the former from my agenda.  I also want to cut out the formal FODMAP challenge as well.  There are 2 reasons for this.  The first is that I already know that FODMAPs are a problem for me.  I instinctively avoid many FODMAP rich foods out of habit now.  Since the other diets I intend to carry out cut out so many FODMAPs as part of their basic premise, I will be allowed plenty of time to assess the effect of individual FODMAPS as I reintroduce foods.  The second reason why I think this is a good idea is that FODMAP tolerance can increase as a healthier bacteria balance is established in the gut.  If I spend several months eating clean, I may find certain foods to be more tolerable.  I know that it has made a difference in the past.  After my very first low fructose/fructan challenge, I found that I could tolerate much more fruit than usual before getting a sour tummy.  Finally, I am not going to carry out the Fast Tract Digestion for IBS diet either.  This approach limits resistant starch but not FODMAPS.  It requires resistant starch calculations at each meal.  This method sounds complicated and has not been validated by research the way the low FODMAP diet has, so I’d rather just keep its principles in mind rather than going through an extended trial.  This leaves just 4 diets: 2 of which are hardcore elimination diets and 2 which are lifestyle approaches.  I like the sound of that.  I will spend much more time reintroducing foods and assessing my reactions than following restrictive approaches.  Hallelujah!

The Last Diets Standing:

1.  The Paleo Approach

2. The Bulletproof Diet

3. 21 Day Sugar Detox

4. Perfect Health Diet

2 Responses to “Less Restriction, More Analysis”

  1. tessatito January 8, 2014 at 4:05 am #

    I was starting to wonder about this 😛 I wish you luck. Once I get over the hump of quitting smoking and wanting to eat everything in sight I would like to do the sugar detox. It’s just everything tastes so good these days! ❤ proud of you!

    • thehungryguineapig January 9, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

      Thanks Tessa. I definitely think that smoking is the more important demon to tackle, and I understand the hesitation. I am more reluctant to cook than change my eating habits, but the winter is making everything much harder than it needs to be.

Leave a Reply

