Food Hangover…and in other news, AAT Week IV: the Finale

2 Feb

I helped a friend celebrate her 30th birthday last night.  I don’t drink very often, so my way of joining in on the festivities was letting all of my FODMAP rules go out the window.  I indulged in onion rings, hummus, and wheat.  So how do I feel today?  Like I may as well have drank a 6-pack all to myself…

Week III recap:
I didn’t binge at all nor did I find myself sliding down the “what the heck” slippery slope.  I haven’t since starting this program.  AAT identifies the “what the heck” obstacle as allowing yourself to binge, because you already “failed” by eating something “forbidden”.  I already ate those 2 Oreos, and I was going to cut out all processed foods.  I might as well finish off the package, so I can start over tomorrow.  I used to struggle with this all of the time, but I’ve come a long way.

If I ate something just because it would taste good or satisfy a craving, I stopped eating it at moderate fullness.  I have learned to keep (mental) tabs on my reasons for eating.  Anti-deprivation eating was a big driver behind choosing to eat so many FODMAP rich foods in the name of celebration.  The philosophy behind Anti-deprivation eating is that you eat just enough of whatever food you are craving or want to eat for emotional reasons to stifle any post-deprivation inspired binges.  If you never give in to your cravings, they can build into a giant beast who convinces you to eat a whole pint of ice cream, because you didn’t get to have that doughnut that one time.

What’s on the Agenda?

I am going to combine the next 2 chapters into 1 final week: Effective Emotional Eating & Food Awareness Training.

Effective Emotional Eating:

Step one: Rule out biological hunger

Step two: Rate intensity of desire to eat (1-7)

1-3: Try distraction

4-5: Try distraction or urge surfing (observing your craving without acting upon it)

6-7: If urge is strong or persistent, don’t fight it.  Eat the food that you want slowly and mindfully.  Stop at moderate fullness.

If you are doing this correctly, you should feel better NOT WORSE afterwards.  Binges will always make you feel worse and are never worth it.

*Keep track of the emotions that make you want to eat

Food Awareness Training:

Instead of labeling foods as “good” and “bad”, try this instead…

Main Goal: balance taste against how you will feel later in the day, and make an informed decision based on this analysis.

I will be writing down what I ate and whether or not it was worth it.

The idea is to use this gathered data to create “Personal Food Guidelines”.  While I already have a pretty good idea of which foods will and will not be worth it for me, these foods and whether or not I perceive them as being “worth it” will continue to change as time goes on.

Sources:

Craighead, L. (2006) The Appetite Awarness Workbook: how to listen to your body & overcome bingeing, overeating & obsession with food.

One Response to “Food Hangover…and in other news, AAT Week IV: the Finale”

  1. tessatito February 3, 2014 at 1:21 am #

    Proud of you. Gotta enjoy yourself once in a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

